Breakfast on fasting day three for me was a fresh peach and half a cup of 0% fat yoghurt (98 calories). My husband had a slice of wholemeal toast with a teaspoon of butter (125 calories).

Sliced peaches with yoghurt

Lunch was cabbage soup. I made enough for Day 4, too. Which was a shame, as it was particularly dull meal, even with added cumin. I’m putting the recipe here for honesty’s sake, but I really wouldn’t recommend making it with water – it needs a good stock. Or more spices. Or something…

Recipe for cabbage soup (serves 4)

2 cups cabbage, shredded
2 onions, diced
4 carrots, diced
Sprigs of lovage, chopped (you could use celery if you have it)
2 potatoes, diced
1tsp cumin seeds
1 litre water or stock (I used water, but stock would have been a much better option!)
2 tsp curry powder (I added this when we had the soup on Day 4 and it made the soup much tastier.)
Spray of olive oil

Total calories per serving: 137

Method: Spray a little olive oil into a pan and fry onions, carrot and lovage (or celery) until softened. Stir in potatoes, cabbage and cumin seeds. Add water or stock and simmer for at least 30 minutes or until the potatoes are soft. Blend the soup with a hand-held blender or in a food processor. I like mine to have small pieces of vegetable still visible, so I don’t blend it completely smooth.

