We’re beginning to get into a routine with the 5:2 diet. Today started out with both of us skipping breakfast and then eating the second half of Friday’s soup for lunch. Supper was salmon with lemony couscous and a healthy plateful of vegetables.

Recipe for Salmon with lemony couscous (serves 2)

2 zucchini, sliced
2 100g skinless salmon fillets
1 tsp olive oil
100g dry wholewheat couscous
zest and juice of 1 lemon
100g green beans
100g tomatoes

Method: Heat oven to 350°F/180°C. Spray zucchini slices with a little oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and put on a baking sheet. Roast for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, top, tail and slice the beans, ready for steaming, and remove the zest and juice from the lemon and put them in a bowl. Add the couscous into the bowl. Coat the salmon fillets with a small amount of olive oil and season them. Put them in the oven with the zucchini slices when the zucchini have been cooking for 15 minutes. The salmon will take about 10-15 minutes to cook. Put the beans on to steam and boil the kettle for the couscous. Pour the boiling water over the cous-cous and leave it to absorb the water and swell up. Cut up the tomatoes and then serve the meal.

Total calories per serving: 350

Salmon, lemony cous-cous and vegetables

The angle of the photo makes it look like there’s hardly any couscous, but 50g each is a good-sized portion. It felt like a normal meal, not a calorie-counted one. I gave our children exactly the same thing, come to think of it*, so it was a normal meal!

Today’s calorie total is 450 so far and I haven’t felt hugely hungry at any point today. I might just finish the day with a tiny glass of white wine to make up the 500…

I was packing for a business trip this afternoon and was delighted to find that a couple of favourite items of clothing fit me again after being too small to wear all summer. I think this diet is doing me some good. I will be away for our next fasting day, so will have to see what effect that has on my willpower and routine.

*Well, minus the zucchini – I didn’t want a riot on my hands.

