Another day with no breakfast, and today, instead of having soup for lunch, we just had an apple each. This was after my experience of being away from home back on fasting day 7, when I found that a few items of fruit were a reasonable way of staving off hunger for the day. It’s also a lot easier to pick up an apple than it is to make a bowl of soup, if I’m brutally honest. Otherwise I spend all of my fasting days thinking about food. Who am I trying to kid, I do that anyway! Planning my evening meal and blogging about it here are just about enough to keep me sane.

Butternut squashJust having an apple for lunch gave me 400 calories to play with for our tenth fasting day’s supper. I’m harvesting butternut squash at the moment, and yesterday I roasted three of them in the oven. I used one to make two sweet pumpkin loaves (one of the loaves is still in existence, tempting me from the kitchen as I type), froze the flesh of another one and had about two cupsful from the third, which is what I used for this dish.

Pork with spicy butternut squash and rice bake

Recipe for Pork with spicy rice and butternut squash bake (serves 2)

Ingredients for squash and rice bake100g lean pork (I used the lean meat from some pork chops)*
600g butternut squash (cooked weight)
100g brown jasmine rice
250ml/1 cup water or stock
40g sun-dried tomatoes, sliced
1 fresh cayenne chilli pepper, diced (or 1 tsp cayenne powder)
2 crushed cloves garlic
salt & pepper

Total calories per serving: 400

Method: Simmer the rice in water or stock until tender (takes about 25 minutes with brown rice). By the time the rice is tender, all the liquid should be absorbed. Combine the rice with the cooked squash, tomatoes, chilli, garlic and seasoning, then bake for 20-30 minutes at 350°F/180°C until warmed through. Meanwhile, grill the pork chops for around 20 minutes, turning occasionally until cooked through, and slice 100g of lean meat from them to serve with the rice and squash bake. Or fry the mushrooms, if you’re doing the vegetarian alternative, and serve them up with the bake.

I love the colours in this dish – like a slice of autumn on a plate!

The rice and squash bake was very filling (almost too filling) – but we were so hungry that we ate this meal at 3.30pm, which probably means that we’ll be starving by bed time. Should have called this post ‘Day 10: high tea’ really. Oh well, I might get these fasting days meals right, eventually…

Mushrooms*A vegetarian or vegan option with the same calories would be to have 100g mushrooms (four medium-sized mushrooms) cooked in a tablespoon of butter or oil

