Last week, we fasted on Thursday but it was back to Friday again this week, although I made this curry yesterday as I had some free time to pootle about in the kitchen. It’s possibly easier to plan fasting day food on a non-fasting day, but the jury’s still out on that one, as far as I’m concerned. Cooking somehow takes my mind off eating. But I know that probably isn’t true for most people!

Red lentil curry, rice and spinach

Recipe for Red lentil curry with rice and spinach (serves 2)

Ingredients for curry sauce90g/½ cup red lentils
145g/5oz fresh tomatoes, sliced (or halved if they’re small)
1 tsp oil
1 onion, quartered and sliced
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp ground ginger
1 heaped tsp curry powder
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
salt
90g/½ cup brown jasmine rice
50g spinach, stems removed, shredded

Total calories per serving: 400

Method: Rinse lentils and cover them so that there’s about half an inch of water above them. Bring to the boil and then simmer for around 20 minutes, adding more water if they look like they’re getting too dry (you want a porridge-like consistency). Put a cup of water over the rice in a separate pan and do the same with them – all the water should be absorbed into the rice in 20 minutes or so.

Meanwhile, warm a frying pan and add the oil and then the sliced onions. Cook on a low heat for about 10 minutes until the onions are soft and gently browned. Add the spices and garlic and raise the heat, stirring until the scent of the spices is really strong. Then stir in the tomato pieces and cook until they’ve lost their integrity. Hm, that sounds a bit cruel. Basically you just want them to fall apart and release their juices. At this point the curry mixture will look something like this:

Onion, spices and tomatoes

By now the lentils should be done. Stir them into the curry mixture with a little salt, to taste. You can either stir the shredded spinach into the curry and cook briefly until it’s soft, or if you’d rather have it separately, steam the spinach and serve that alongside the curry on the rice.

Like I said, I made the curry part yesterday, so I refrigerated it (in a takeaway container, for that authentic curry look!).

Red lentil curry

One of the good things about making this on a non-fasting day was that I didn’t feel any guilt about tasting the dish to check the seasoning levels!

Despite my filling soup lunch I was still hungry just as early as I was on Day 10, so once more, it was an early supper. The curry tasted great and I feel good and full right now. Suspect I’ll still be hungry when I go to bed, though. 😦

