I had a few pieces of fruit and vegetables for lunch, as I was at a work-related event and didn’t want to look too weird about not eating. Because I was out all day, supper was a soup which I’d made for a non-fasting week-day lunch earlier in the week. At the time I hadn’t counted the calories, but I did so in retrospect today and it worked out quite OK as a fasting-day main meal (with some bread). I didn’t think to take a photo of it though!

Recipe for Curried lamb and winter vegetable soup (serves 4)

1 tsp butter
Winter vegetables150g onions, peeled and diced
250g carrots, diced
100g Jerusalem artichokes, diced
250g potatoes, diced
1 heaped tablespoon curry powder
1 litre stock
1 tbsp cornflour
100g cooked lamb, diced

Total calories per serving: 180

Method: Melt butter in a large saucepan and stir in the onions, cooking until they turn transparent. Add the other vegetables and the curry powder and cook over a low heat for five minutes. Add the stock, bring to a boil and cook at a simmer for 30-40 minutes, or until the carrots are soft. Mix the cornflour in a little water and stir it into the soup to thicken it. Use a potato masher to help break the vegetables up and make the soup thicker (or blend the soup, if you prefer a smoother version). Add the diced cooked lamb and warm through to serve.

We had this soup with a thickish slice of my oat-laced bread, bringing the total for this meal to 370.

