I’m going to have to change the name of this blog to ‘Black Bean Blog’ soon, I know. I just find these particular legumes incredibly useful for fasting day meals. I usually cook a couple of cups of beans at a time and keep them in the fridge as a quick and easy source of protein for lunches. If you believe this effusive website they’ve got particularly good health benefits. I’m growing black beans (Cherokee Trail of Tears) for the first time this year, so hope eventually to be cooking my own!

This recipe was inspired by one on the Budget Bytes site for black bean and avocado enchiladas. My avocado, sadly, was not ripe enough to eat, so instead of using tortillas, I put the corn and beans in the (adapted) enchilada sauce as a soup instead. The addition of cocoa intrigued me – you don’t taste chocolate in the finished dish, but there is a richness to the sauce which wouldn’t be there otherwise, I think.

For a soup which takes mere minutes to make, this one is absolutely delicious.

Mexican soup

Mexican soup (serves 1)

Ingredient Calories per serving
200g canned tomatoes, blended to a purée 36
1 tsp cumin seeds 8
1 tsp smoked paprika or chilli powder 6
1 tsp cocoa powder 4
½ cup cooked black beans 114
½ cup corn kernels 62
salt and pepper 0

Total calories per serving: 230

Method: Mix everything together in a pan and heat until warm enough to eat. Doesn’t get much simpler than that!

